Week 3: History of Reality

I have started to post links to your websites from the student websites’ page. I have started to grade your introduction pages, so please check the gradebook on Blackboard to find my written evaluation. I am having most students continue working on their introduction, separating the show history to that corresponding page, and write more about themselves and their relationship to their selected show. On February 1st, we are having a visitor from the library that will come to our class to administer a test about library resources. She is trying to collect this data from senior-oriented classes, and ours was selected. This test will take about 45 minutes of our class time. During the last part of class, we will review your newly created websites, and the pages: “personal interest” and “show history.” Once you have completed your show history page, please post a link to it here, and include a short description of your findings.

Please also read the two chapters on Blackboard: Andrejevic chapters 1 & 3 (first listed articles under “readings”). If possible, cite these articles on your “history of show” page, or else quote other sources from academic articles found on JSTOR.

~ by snakegrrl on January 28, 2012.

15 Responses to “Week 3: History of Reality”

  1. Allison Barbini’s Show History page
    http://allisonbarbini.wordpress.com/

    I found the history of the reality TV show Jersey Shore. I was surprised that it was originally suppose to be a competition type of show. I was also shocked to see what some of the cast members did before the show.

  2. Vanessa Carlone

    History

    I found the history of the reality TV show Mob Wives on VH1. I was interested in what the crimes were that the women’s husbands or fathers committed while in the mob and how they’re all related to one another.

  3. History

    I found the history of the reality TV show “Keeping Up With The Kardashians” on the E! network. I was interested in learning how the family became wealthy and why they were famous.

  4. http://millionairematchmakerdotcom.wordpress.com/

    I found the history of the reality TV show “Millionaire Matchmaker”. I discussed how the method of matching couples they use is interesting.

  5. I researched the history of The Real World. I found it intersesting how this series began in 1992 and continues to be aired on MTV.

    History of The Real World

  6. History

    This page is the history of the Maury show. The show has been on the air for quite a long time and there is some ironic controversy surrounding Maury’s personal life.

  7. This my history page for Love & HipHop. This is a fairly new that just recently aired in 2011. Learning about the cast past and where they came from was very interesting to me after doing this page.

    History

  8. Olivia Betulia

    This page features the history of the reality series of The Hills. Originally airing in 2006, the series lasted for 6 seasons.

    http://os07betu.wordpress.com/2012/02/01/show-history/

  9. Aaron Race

    This page shows the history of Storage Wars and goes into more detail about the main bidders on the show. It is currently in its second season on A&E.

    Show History

  10. Maximiliano Ospina

    History of Locked Up Abroad

    This is the history of locked up abroad, there was not much information out there but I was interested to see that it was originally called banged up abroad.

  11. Show History

  12. Pawn Stars is little over 2 years old, however, has some interesting history that I was able to report on the page posted below. The origination of the show is a cool story and it has been very successful up to this point.

    History of Pawn Stars

  13. Show History

    I did the History of the Big Break, touching on a few specific seasons.

  14. Allison Barbini

    I didn’t realize that I made my history page a post so I re-did it.

    History

  15. Brittani Griffin

    Here is some history information about my show and the basic layout of an episode. I also included a clip of another reality makeover show called Extreme Makeover.

    History

Leave a comment